Where can I Camp?

New Zealand is an amazing country to travel and camp in. It's safe, there are great facilities at the campgrounds and holiday parks, no nasty animals to be wary of and of course you're surrounded by incredible scenery.  Please view the below details on where you can camp to best enjoy your time in New Zealand with the minimum environmental impact.



Please stay in Holiday ParksDepartment of Conservation camping grounds or other designated areas. These will vary from region to region. Choose from hundreds of options at www.camping.org.nz

The Camping Our Way website also has lots of practical information to help you maximise enjoyment from your camping holiday. There are tips on everything from how to be eco-wise to dump station and public toilet locations. There are also links to regional websites that will give you more information on how to make the most of camping in that region.


Where can people camp in New Zealand?

Restrictions on camping vary in each region. In some areas people can camp with relative freedom but in other places camping is restricted to selected areas. It’s up to each community to manage camping in ways that are appropriate for them. Many councils have bylaws to control freedom camping.


Where can you camp?

Fully self contained 

Non self contained

(No toilet, shower or grey water storage)

1. DOC Campsites



2. Holiday Parks



3. Designated camping sites with a toilet



4. Designated camping sites without a toilet



If in doubt, assume nothing – always ask here: i-SITE Visitor Centreholiday park or Department of Conservation Visitor Centre


Useful links  

DOC Campsites and places to stay 

North Island DOC campsite PDF

South Island DOC campsite PDF


Regional Information

Some regions have developed information to help you find out more about camping in their area. Remember, though, if the information isn’t listed here check at your local i-site.


Far North District Council Kaikoura District Council
Thames Coromandel District Council Hurunui District Council
Tauranga City Council Christchurch City Council
Gisborne District Council Grey District Council
Rotorua District Council Westland District Council
Hastings District Council Mackenzie District Council
Tasman District Council Queenstown Lakes District Council
Nelson City Council Clutha District Council
Marlborough District Council Southland District Council



Get an instant quote